## UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## **Special Meeting**

## November 10, 2021 12:00 p.m.

A special meeting of the University of South Alabama Board of Trustees was duly convened by Mr. Jimmy Shumock, Chair pro tempore, on Wednesday, November 10, 2021, at 12:01 p.m. in the Board Room of the Frederick P. Whiddon Administration Building. Public access was provided via YouTube livestream.

Members:	Alexis Atkins, Tom Corcoran, Arlene Mitchell, Jimmy Shumock, Mike Windom and Jim Yance were present, and Chandra Brown Stewart, Steve Furr, Ron Graham, Ron Jenkins, Lenus Perkins, Steve Stokes and Margie Tuckson participated remotely.
Members Absent:	Scott Charlton and Kay Ivey.
Administration & Guests:	Zeke Aull, Robbie Baker, Joél Billingsley, Owen Bailey, Madeleine Boudreaux, Mike Chang, Kristin Dukes, Joel Erdmann, Julie Estis, Monica Ezell, Mike Haskins, Martin Heslin, Kim and Nick Lawkis, Alexandria Lee (BSU), Todd McDonald, Abe Mitchell, Mike Mitchell, Chris Pringle, Grace Sekaya (SGA), Laura Schratt, Beth Shepard (Faculty Senate), John Smith, Margaret Sullivan, Scott Weldon and Alvin Williams.
Media:	Lawrence Specker (AL.com); Gabe Tynes (Lagniappe); Mike Lowe (WALA); Gabby Easterwood (WKRG); and Mike Corry and Andrea Ramey (WPMI).

The meeting came to order and the attendance roll was called, **Item 1**. Concerning action related to the president search, **Item 2**, Chairman Shumock invited members of the Board to share any remarks regarding the process for selection of the University president. He noted that the Board followed Alabama Open Meetings Act provisions in conducting its deliberations on the finalist candidates who were recommended by the President Search Committee. He stated, through the Board's discussions, a conclusion had been reached with a majority of Board members in favor of one particular candidate, and he nominated Mr. Jo Bonner to be South's next president. Ms. Atkins seconded, and the Board voted to approve the acceptance of Mr. Bonner's nomination. At Ms. Tuckson's request, a roll call vote took place, as recorded below:

## AYES:

- Ms. Atkins
- Tom Corcoran
- Dr. Furr
- Mr. Graham
- · Capt. Jenkins
- Ms. Mitchell
- Mr. Perkins
- Mr. Shumock

USA Board of Trustees November 10, 2021 Page 2

AYES continued:

- $\cdot$  Dr. Stokes
- · Judge Windom
- Mr. Yance

NAYS: • Ms. Brown Stewart • Ms. Tuckson

Chairman Shumock stated that negotiations with the candidate selected would commence and the University community would be apprised as progress is made.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:06 p.m.

Attest to:

leiks alluns

Katherine Alexis Atkins, Secretary

Respectfully submitted:

James H. Shumock, Chair pro tempore