CONCERT SERIES 2021-2022

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL

USA Symphony Band USA Wind Ensemble

William H. Petersen, conductor

Canzona (1951)

Peter Menin (1923-1983)

Steven Bryant (b. 1972)

Dusk (2004)

Country Gardens (1953)

Percy Aldridge Grainger (1882-1961)

Aquarium (1991)Johan de MeijAllegretto grazioso (Neon Tetra, Electric Eel, and Angelfish)(b. 1953)Andante/Adagio (Sea Horse and Zebra fish)(b. 1953)Finale: Allegro giocoso (Guppy & Co.)(b. 1953)

USA Symphony Band

Intermission

Common Threads (2016)

Kimberly Archer (b. 1973)

James Stephenson (b. 1969)

Symphony No. 2, "Voices" (2016) Prelude: "of Passion" Shouts and Murmurs of One

Ellen Mitchell, mezzo soprano

USA Wind Ensemble

The Eighth Concert of Academic Year 2021-2022

Thursday, September 23, 2021 7:30 p.m.

USA Symphony Band Personnel

Flute

Madison Kille, principal Jaii Parker Randy Le Kelton Shirley Ginger Llivian

Oboe

Haley Turner, principal Crystal Garrard

Clarinet

Cheyenne Higgs, principal Claire Cazalas Patricia Langham Leila Thomas Ashlyn Tidwell Erin Lockwood

August Gallagher, principal

Jaishon Robinson

Marlo Daniels, piccolo

Michele Perry, principal

Cameron Swann, oboe &

Gunnar Nelson, principal

Erika Horne, principal

English horn

Kadence Clemmons

Bass Clarinet

Erika Horne

Flute

Oboe

Bassoon

Clarinet

Sarah Wilson

Reese Liggett

Cheyenne Higgs

Emily Castaneda

Bass Clarinet

Claire Cazalas

Randy Le

Alto Saxophone

Connor Daley, principal Tyler Peek

Tenor Saxophone Blake Bodie

Baritone Saxophone Greg Weatherly

Trumpet

Jaleel Hughes, principal Dakota Mellick Tanner Madden Jade Slater Samuel Collins Blake Daniel James Gandy Dixie Foster Zach Nelson

<u>Horn</u>

Mason Ledbetter, principal Garrett Booth Bethany Driggers

USA Wind Ensemble Personnel

Alto Saxophone

Elizabeth Faust, principal Zander Westphal, *alto & soprano*

Tenor Saxophone Greg Weatherly

Baritone Saxophone Wyndal Mosley

Trumpet

Cameron Sansing, principal Nathan Shadix, co-principal Ethan Walsh Jacobe Ramsey Brett Fabacher Austin Allen

<u>Horn</u>

Bethany Driggers, principal Catherine Power Garrett Booth Mallori Garner

<u>Piano</u> Ellen Jones Hunter Tyon

Harp Katie Ott **

Trombone

Cooper Tate, principal Ben Brunson Juan Carlos Mata Brianna Rawden Victoria Hill

Bass Trombone Harrison Colthup, principal

<u>Euphonium</u> Tael McKellar

Tuba

Wesley Crosby, principal Erin Dees Joseph White Matthew Blanco

Percussion

Tyler Scott, principal Danielle Davis Jemone Koger J.P. Simpson Christian Calloway

Trombone

Destin Hinkel, principal Destiny Miskel, co-principal Josh Walker

Bass Trombone Nicholas Herboso

<u>Euphonium</u>

Noah Barnett, principal Jeremy Perryman Trevor Sullivan

<u>Tuba</u> Timothy Taldon, principal Mark Sayler

Double Bass

Jeffrey Ward

Percussion

Sam Goecke, principal Christian Calloway Aayush Patel Patrick Boyd Nicholas Jensen Tyler Scott Danielle Davis Zachary Webb *

* denotes USA Faculty

** denotes guest artist