

CONCERT SERIES 2017-2018

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL

USA Brass Ensembles Fall Concert

Peter Wood, Greg Gruner, and William H. Petersen, directors

Entrate e Ritornelli per 5 Trombe (1996)

Jazz Sketch #1 (2004)

Amarilli mia bella (1601)

X1 (2011)

USA Trumpet Ensemble

Jupiter Chorale, from "The Planets" (1914)

Die Walküre, Act II, Scene 4 (1870)

Entrance of the Gladiators (1897)

Jiří Laburda (b. 1931)

Lennie Niehaus (b. 1929)

Giulio Caccini (1551-1618) arranged by Peter Wood

Erik Morales (b. 1966)

Gustav Holst (1874-1934) arranged by Charles De Paolo

Richard Wagner (1813-1883) arranged by Donald King

Julius Fucik (1872-1916) arranged by Wes Ballenger

USA Trombone Choir

National Emblem (1902)

Edwin Eugene Bagley (1857-1922) arranged by Robert Wilkinson

Funeral March of a Marionette (1872)

Charles Gounod (1818-1893) arranged by Mike Forbes

USA Tuba Euphonium Ensemble

The Girl with the Flaxen Hair (1909)

Claude Debussy (1862-1918) arranged by Bill Holcombe and Bill Holcombe Jr.

Armenian Scenes (1984) Morning Song Drinking Song Song of Grief Wedding Procession

Jewel Brass Quintet

Scherzo (1965)

That's A'Plenty (1914)

John Cheetham (b. 1939)

Lew Pollack (1895-1946) arranged by Jack Gale

Go! (2014)

Anthony DiLorenzo (b. 1967)

Alexander Arutiunian (1920-2012)

Brown Bag Brass Quintet

The Twenty-third Concert of Academic Year 2017-2018

Friday, November 10, 2017 7:30 p.m.

Brown Bag Brass Quintet

Tyler Butler, trumpet Erick Wicklund, trumpet Amber-Lynn Boothe, horn Sam Formichella, trombone Chris Wren, bass trombone

Jewel Brass Quintet

Kyle Brookins, trumpet Jake Reosti, trumpet Emma Brown, horn Destin Hinkel, trombone Josh Davis, tuba

USA Trumpet Ensemble

Kyle Brookins Tyler Butler Jaleel Hughes Nicholas LuGrain Aaron Oliver Jake Reosti Erick Wicklund

USA Trombone Choir

Tyler Brandon Sam Formichella Destin Hinkle Luke Smith Patrick Whitehurst

USA Tuba Euphonium Ensemble

Euphonium

Kevin Bowlin Christopher LeBatard Brandt Meinhardt Greg Wheat Katie Wilson Christopher Wren

Tuba

Joshua Davis Kenneth Galloway Hunter Giannini Dalton Horne Timothy Taldon Michael Williams