

WIND ENSEMBLE Fall Concert

Greg L. Gruner, conductor William H. Petersen, associate conductor

Canzona (1954) Peter Mennin (1923-1983) Postcard (1991) Frank Ticheli (b. 1958) Colonial Song (1918) Percy Grainger (1882-1961) William H. Petersen, conductor Passacaglia (Homage on B-A-C-H) (1993) Ron Nelson (b. 1929) Barnum and Bailey's Favorite (1913) Karl L. King (1891-1971) **INTERMISSION** The Binding (1981) Fisher Tull (1934-1994) Symphonic Movement (1966) Vaclav Nelhybel (1919-1996) William H. Petersen, conductor October (2000) Eric Whitacre (b. 1970) Bayou Breakdown (2004) Brant Karrick (b. 1960)



LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL Thursday, November 7, 2013 – 7:30 p.m.

ABOUT THE UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA WIND ENSEMBLE

The USA Wind Ensemble is the premiere instrumental ensemble in the Department of Music. As a select performing ensemble of woodwind, brass, and percussion instrumentalists, Dr. Greg L. Gruner conducts the Wind Ensemble with an emphasis on wind ensemble literature and live performance. The Wind Ensemble is open to music majors and non-music majors with prior instrumental performance experience in high school or junior college. All students must win an audition each semester in order to join the Wind Ensemble.

WIND ENSEMBLE PERSONNEL

<u>Flute</u> Rachel Moody * Nicole Carrion Beth Holmes Brianna Smith

<u>Oboe</u> Kaitlyn Poiroux * Madi Kreamer

<u>Bassoon</u> Jake Cannon * Jenna Greep

<u>Clarinet</u>

Emily Allen * Jacob Diercks Sierra Huggins Carson Watson Derek McDougal Chanael Wilson

Bass Clarinet Stephanie Diaz

Contrabass Clarinet Ivan Merriweather <u>Alto Sax</u> Andrew Cox * David Collins

<u>Tenor Sax</u> Brittney Franklin

Baritone Sax Courtney Day

<u>Trumpet</u> Drew Pritchard * Dennis Parker Shawn Wright Paige Nelson Catie Stephens Nathan Shadix

Horn Morgan Wilkins * Lauren Morrison Colby Smith Christopher Gaal

Trombone Will Rosati *

Jonathan Faust Edward Doyle

Bass Trombone Austin Platt Euphonium Chase West * Michael Harris

<u>Tuba</u> Matt Selete * Kenneth Coleman

String Bass Lance Wilkinson

Percussion

Ben Ivey * Ian Jones Ryan Boehme Steven Davidson Soren Odom Jessica Foster Luke Smith

Piano Wei Min Patrick *

<u>Harp</u> Andra Bohnet #

* denotes principal# denotes music faculty