

# UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC

# Symphony Band and Wind Ensemble Winter Concert

Greg L. Gruner, conductor William H. Petersen, conductor Megan King, soprano

Symphony Band Cenotaph (Fanfare for Band) (1992) Jack Stamp (b. 1954) Suite in E-flat, op. 28, no. 1 (1909) Gustav Holst (1874-1934) Chaconne edited by Colin Matthews Intermezzo March "Blessed are They that Mourn" Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) from *A German Requiem* (1867) scored by Barbara Buehlman Greg L. Gruner, conductor Festal Scenes, "Matsuri" (1988) Yasuhide Ito (b. 1960) **INTERMISSION** Wind Ensemble Millennium Canons (2001) Kevin Puts (b. 1972) Angels in the Architecture (2009) Frank Ticheli (b. 1958) William H. Petersen, conductor Megan King, soprano Florentiner (Grande Marcia Italiana) (1907) Julius Fučík (1872-1916) edited by Frederick Fennell Peterloo Overture (1968) Malcolm Arnold (1921-2006) arranged by Charles Sayre



LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL Monday, February 24, 2014 – 7:30 p.m.

## USA SYMPHONY BAND William H. Petersen, conductor Greg L. Gruner, associate conductor

### Flute

Brianna Smith \* Ivan Merriweather Aileen Cain Kat Scott

# Oboe

Kaitlyn Poiroux \* Molly Hicks

## Bassoon

Laura Lovett \* Lauren Burch

# Clarinet

Sierra Huggins \* Derek McDougal Alyssa Weiskopf Meredith Wyatt Hannah Kibby Emily Allen

**Bass Clarinet** Stephanie Diaz Alto Saxophone Brittany Franklin \* Dabney Matchett

Tenor Saxophone David Collins

Baritone Saxophone Myler Dobbins

### Trumpet

Paige Nelson \* Jimmy Rodgers Jenetta McGee Phillip Melancon Natalie Thomson Isaac Jolly Chris Marzullo

# Horn

Shawn Wright \* Colby Smith Ben Pearce Nathan Haynes

# USA WIND ENSEMBLE Greg L. Gruner, conductor William H. Petersen, associate conductor

### Flute

Nicole Carrion \* Celeste Boone Beth Holmes

## Oboe

Madi Kreamer \* Todd Stehr

## Bassoon

Jake Cannon \* Jenna Greep

## Clarinet

Emily Allen \* Derek McDougal Jacob Dierks Carson Watson Alyssa Weiskopf Meredith Wyatt

## **Bass Clarinet**

Stephanie Diaz \* Ivan Merriweather Alto Saxophone David Collins \* Andrew Cox

Tenor Saxophone Karl Bentley III

**Baritone Saxophone** Brittany Franklin

# Trumpet Drew Pritchard \* Shawn Wright Dennis Parker Miki Vaughn Nathan Shadix Tyler Williams

Horn Morgan Wilkins \* Lauren Morrison Dustin Miller Chris Gaal

\* denotes section leader

## Trombone

Ahmod Johnson \* Shawn Roberson TJ Rickey Davis Mullinex

#### Euphonium

Robin Coleman \* Rodney Byrd

# Tuba

Kenneth Coleman \* Robert Spafford Zack O'Neal

### Percussion

John Zahasky \* Steven Davidson Audrey Knappe Alex White DJ Washington Jessica Foster

### Trombone

Edward Doyle \* Will Rosati Rebecca Bensinger Robin Coleman

**Euphonium** Chris LeBatard

**Tuba** Matt Selete \* Kenneth Coleman

**String Bass** Lance Wilkinson

### Percussion

Ben Ivey \* Luke Smith Ian Jones Soren Odom Bryant Ramey Jessica Foster

**Piano** Boni Yraguen