

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA Department of Music

Symphony Band Spring Concert

R. Ward Miller, conductor

Tray Fox, Trey Head, Sydney Miller, Lauren Morrison, Catie Stephens, and Laine Thompson, student conductors

KHAN



13TH CENTURY ANECDOTAL PORTRAIT OF GENGHIS KHAN

RECITAL HALL LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER Tuesday, April 30, 2013 7:30 p.m.

PROGRAM		
Seapower Fanfare (2001)		Jerry Brubaker
Incantation and Dance (196	33)	John Barnes Chance
Precision March (2011)	Tray Fox, conductor	Harold Bennett
Dublin Dances (2007)Jan Van der RoostI. Brian Boru's March – Trey Head, conductorII. The Minstrel Boy – Sydney Miller, conductorIII. The Irish Washerwoman – Laine Thompson, conductor		
Old Churches (2002)		Michael Colgrass
Rollo Takes a Walk (1985)		David Maslanka
Rhythm Stand (2004)	Lauren Morrison, conductor	Jennifer Higdon
Overture for Winds (1959)	Catie Stephens, conductor	Charles Carter
Khan (2008)		Julie Giroux

ABOUT THE UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA SYMPHONY BAND

The University of South Alabama Symphony Band is the Department's second concert band. A large performing ensemble of woodwind, brass and percussion instrumentalists, the Symphony Band emphasizes wind band literature and live performance. The ensemble is open by audition to both music majors and non-music majors. All members of the ensemble must win a competitive audition each semester in order to join the band.

SYMPHONY BAND PERSONNEL

Bass Clarinet Flute Kathleen Killebrew * Celeste Boone * Bayleigh Cook Ivan Merriweather Alto Saxophone Sydney Miller Daeshen Smith * Haley Logan Caleb Riddle Oboe **Tenor Saxophone** Brandy Dunn * Dabney Matchett * Bassoon **Baritone Saxophone** Jake Cannon * Brittney Franklin Laura Lovett Trumpet Clarinet Tyler Williams * Kierra Hardy * Catie Stephens Emily Allen Isaac Jolly **Charles Culpepper** Jenetta McGee Stephanie Diaz Phillip Melancon Ariel Ramirez Natalie Thomson Randa Pope Miki Vaughn Morgan Wilkins Tray Fox

Horn Shawn Wright * Laine Thompson Colby Smith Ben Pearce Kat Scott Nathan Haynes

Trombone

Alex Lang * Rebecca Bensinger Robin Coleman Ahmod Johnson Davis Mullenix Cameron Alidor

Euphonium Tyler Seth Herrington * Ricky Nguyen **Tuba** Warren Aliegbe * Michael Baxter

Piano Shawn Wright

Percussion Jessica Foster * Ryan Boehme Alex Gordnier Jacqie Rotch Justin Stone Ian Jones

* - denotes principal

Bryant Ramey